Skip to main content

20 Weeks 3 Days

They say 20 weeks is halfway through pregnancy, but I call bullshit on that because technically the first two weeks of pregnancy are freebies. I will consider myself halfway done when I get past my 22nd week and have only 18 weeks left. I'm still in shock I've made it this far. I'm now wearing maternity clothes and I have gained about 11-ish pounds, which is apparently right on track despite the fact I feel like a whale most nights. I should probably invest in a couple more pairs of Gap Body maternity leggings because the Old Navy ones just don't fit me correctly. Also, my placenta is anterior, so I'm not feeling as many kicks as I would like... but oh, well. I'm sure in a couple more weeks this baby girl will get her sea legs and I will be wishing for a break.

We are moving to our new house at the end of May and I am excited to have a bigger space, but moving is a friggin' hassle. I haaaaate moving. We have met two of our 4 cul-de-sac neighbors and so far so good. The people immediately next to us have 3 kids under 9yrs old, so obviously my son is happy about that.

Currently, I am trying to get through until May 1st, when my last nursing final is for the semester. I would like to be able to take a break this summer, but I'm signed up for an online microbiology course because I will really not have time to do it next summer with an infant and I have to get this done before I start the university's RN-BSN program in Fall 2019. I know people do school with babies (and other kids) all the time, but this is probably going to be the most exhausting thing I've ever done. I will survive, but I will be soooooper tired.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Progesterone in Ethyl Oleate

Due to a nationwide shortage of my usual progesterone-in-oil, I have been using some compounded stuff that uses ethyl oleate and HOLY SHIT IT HURTS. It goes in a lot easier, but it seriously hurts. I hope the manufacturer gets their shit figured out soon because I would like to go back to my old formulation as soon as humanly possible.

PIO Day 2

I started my progesterone-in-oil injections yesterday and, honestly, it wasn't as bad as I'd remembered. I was at clinical, so I enlisted the help of my classmate to do my injection. Might as well help someone learn, right? She did an excellent job. My butt didn't really hurt much until I got home because we don't really get much chance to sit down and rest during clinicals. I just now got done with my second injection and I did some squats to help move it around. It hurts to have a big ball of oil sitting in your muscle, so I will also probably go for a walk after I drop the kiddo off at school. This all seems easy now, but that might be in part because I know I will only have to do these for 6 more days and then I can stop until we do our actual FET cycle in December. And, if that cycle works, I will need to continue the injections until 10 weeks of pregnancy.... and that seems like an eternity to me. Oh, well, it will be worth it if it works.

Endometrial Biopsy #2

I am so excited that I am DONE with invasive fertility procedures for this month*. I won't need to restart my PIO injections until about the 10th of December and I will hopefully never need another excruciatingly painful endometrial biopsy for the rest of my life. If I'm being honest, today's biopsy was not made easier by the fact I had one two days ago. This one hurt much worse, but I have been bleeding less since... so I guess there's that? This morning, after dropping the kiddo off at school, I swung by a Redbox to pick up a movie to watch after I got home (Jason Bourne!). And, after arriving home from the doctor, I only made it about 45 minutes into it before I realized I wasn't going to be able to stay awake. I had also ordered a pizza and snarfed three pieces... which may have contributed to my sleepiness. I laid down in bed at about 11am and got up at about 3:10pm. I don't remember the last time I took a nap like that. It definitely helps that the house...